Scholar-led Plus: Tailored support for scholar-led publishing

The aim of the project is to improve the publication situation of scholar-led, open access gold journals and blogs through practical and strategic knowledge resources. Scholar-led journals face particular challenges and established funding and support options are often not effective here. As an integral part of the publishing ecosystem, the visibility and recognition of these journals needs to be improved.

The project understands scholar-led publishing as a complex management process for which existing expertise and technical solutions must be bundled and coordinated. The project starts here and develops a set of instructive and strategic documents in three phases through different exchange formats together with the community.

The first phase of the project deals with the analysis of the needs of the community of scholar-led publishing (journals, blogs, libraries, research institutions, professional societies). In the second phase, practical, low-threshold knowledge resources to support publication work will be designed and created. The final, third phase of the project is dedicated to conducting a study and publishing working papers with suggestions for networking and with perspectives on the future of scholar-led publishing.

April 2021 –  July 2023

Marcel Wrzesinski (Project lead)
Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet and Society
marcel.wrzesinski@hiig.de

https://www.hiig.de/project/scholar-led-plus/

Last updated on

Scholar-led Plus: Mehr Unterstützung für wissenschaftsgeführtes Publizieren

Ziel des Projektes ist es, die Publikationssituation von wissenschaftsgeführten (scholar-led), gebührenfreien Open-Access-Gold Zeitschriften und Blogs durch praktische und strategische Wissensressourcen zu verbessern. Wissenschaftsgeführte Zeitschriften sind vor besondere Herausforderungen gestellt und etablierte Finanzierungs- und Unterstützungsmöglichkeiten greifen hier oft nicht. Als integraler Bestandteil des Publikationssystems muss die Sichtbarkeit und Anerkennung dieser Zeitschriften verbessert werden.

Das Projekt begreift Scholar-led-Publishing als einen komplexen Managementprozess, für den vorhandene Expertisen und technische Lösungen gebündelt und aufeinander abgestimmt werden müssen. Das Projekt setzt hier an und erarbeitet in drei Phasen durch verschiedene Austauschformate zusammen mit der Community ein Set an instruktiven und strategischen Dokumenten.

Die erste Projektphase beschäftigt sich mit der Analyse der Bedarfe der Community des wissenschaftgeführten Publizierens (Zeitschriften, Blogs, Bibliotheken, Forschungseinrichtungen, Fachgesellschaften). In der zweiten Phase werden praktische, niedrigschwellige Wissensressourcen zur Unterstützung der Publikationsarbeit konzipiert und erstellt. Die finale, dritte Projektphase widmet sich der Durchführung einer Studie und Publikation von Arbeitspapieren mit Vorschlägen zur Vernetzung und mit Perspektiven zur Zukunft des wissenschaftsgeführten Publizierens.

April 2021 –  Juli 2023

Marcel Wrzesinski (Projektleitung)
Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft
marcel.wrzesinski@hiig.de

https://www.hiig.de/project/scholar-led-plus/

Zuletzt bearbeitet am