Open Access Publishing of Encyclopedic Handbooks

Encyclopedic handbooks are important inventories and reference points for scientific research and teaching. Therefore is highly desirable to publish them in Open Access. However, the humanities, social and educational sciences still hesitate to participate in Open Access. The joint project "OAPEnz" of Verlag Barbara Budrich and ZB MED – Information Centre for Life Sciences addresses this issue and makes innovative OA publication formats accessible to disciplines beyond STM.

The core of the project is the publication of a "living" encyclopedic handbook edited by the German Political Science Association on the topic of "Politics and Gender", which will be published successively in Gold Open Access and additionally at regular intervals as an eBook with print-on-demand option in the publishing programme.
Besides the handbook publication and the development of a sustainable business model for similar publications, the project also includes the advancement of the PUBLISSO publication platform of ZB MED. In the end, PUBLISSO will become a freely usable publishing solution for small and medium-sized publishers as well as university presses, which can be adapted to publication formats commonly used in the humanities and social sciences. The developments of the PUBLISSO platform will be made available open source to other scientific and academic publishers.

02.2021 – 01.2023

Michael Geuenich
+49-(0)221-478-32975
GeuenichM(at)zbmed.de

Open-Access-Publikation von enzyklopädischen Handbüchern

Enzyklopädische Handbücher fungieren in der Wissenschaft als wichtige Bestandsaufnahmen und Referenzpunkte für Forschung und Lehre – ihre Veröffentlichung im Open Access ist daher wünschenswert. Jedoch ist die Partizipation der Geistes-, Sozial- und Bildungswissenschaften an Open Access bisher noch vergleichsweise gering. Das Verbundprojekt „OAPEnz“ des Verlags Barbara Budrich und von ZB MED – Informationszentrum Lebenswissenschaften setzt an dieser Stelle an und macht innovative Open-Access-Publikationsformate auch für Disziplinen jenseits STM zugänglich.

Kern des Vorhabens ist die Herausgabe eines „lebendigen“ enzyklopädisch angelegten Handbuchs der Deutschen Vereinigung für Politikwissenschaft zum Thema „Politik und Geschlecht“, das sukzessive im Goldenen Open Access und zusätzlich in regelmäßigen Abständen als eBook mit Print-on-Demand-Option im Verlagsprogramm erscheinen wird.
Am Ende des Projektes steht neben der Handbuchpublikation und der Entwicklung eines nachhaltigen Geschäftsmodells für ähnliche Publikationen auch die Weiterentwicklung der PUBLISSO-Publikationsplattform von ZB MED. Diese soll zu einer frei nutzbaren Lösung für kleine und mittlere sowie wissenschaftseigene Verlage werden, die sich an weitere in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften gängige Publikationsformate anpassen lässt. Die Entwicklungen der PUBLISSO-Plattform werden nachhaltig im Open Source auch anderen Wissenschafts- und wissenschaftseigenen Verlagen zur Verfügung gestellt.

02.2021 – 01.2023

Michael Geuenich
+49-(0)221-478-32975
GeuenichM(at)zbmed.de