Open Source Academic Publishing Suite

OS-APS is a collaboration between SciFlow in Berlin, the Friedrich-Alexander University Er­langen-Nürnberg and the Martin Luther Uni­versity Halle-Wittenberg.

The goal of this project is to enable small pub­lishers to publish media-neutrally while relying on open source components, either because of an in-house open science strategy or becau­se of limited human and financial resources that prevent these publishers from investing in cost-intensive content management systems or labour-intensive XML tagging. For this purpose, an open source software with which formats such as PDF, EPUB or HTML can be published media-neutrally in an easy and cost-efficient way is being developed.

With OS-APS, manuscript formats can be imported and subsequently transformed into a semantic HTML format, which makes tagging the manuscript in XML with a content management system unnecessary. Via a simple user interface, corrections can be conducted and further metadata can be added. Furthermore, it is possible to use existing templates or create own templates with a Template Development Kit, so that the export formats that are ultimately created are issued in the corporate design of the publisher.

OS-APS is supposed to become an integral part of the publishing-relevant open source software landscape. Therefore, intersections with publishing-relevant tools (i.e. OJS, OMP) and repository software are created in the scope of the project.

Open Source Academic Publishing Suite

Das Projekt OS-APS ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen SciFlow in Berlin, der Friedrich-Ale­xander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg und der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg.

OS-APS soll es kleineren Verlagen ermöglichen, beim medienneutralen Publizieren auf Open-Source-Komponenten zu setzen, sei es auf­grund einer hauseigenen Open-Science-Stra­tegie oder wegen begrenzter personeller und finanzieller Ressourcen, die eine Investition in kostenintensive Content-Management-Systeme oder arbeitsintensives XML-Tagging verhindern. Daher wird mit OS-APS eine Open-Source-Software entwickelt, mit der Verlage verschiedene Formate wie PDF, EPUB oder HTML auf einfache und kostengünstige Weise medienneutral veröffentlichen können.

Mit der Software werden Manuskriptformate importiert und in ein semantisches HTML-Format umgewandelt, wodurch die Notwendigkeit, das Manuskript in einem Content Management System in XML zu taggen, entfällt. Ein Editor ermöglicht Korrekturen und das Hinzufügen weiterer Metadaten. Zudem besteht die Möglichkeit, bereitgestellte Templates zu nutzen oder mithilfe eines Template Development Kit eigene Templates zu erstellen, sodass die anschließend generierten Exportformate im Corporate Design des Verlags ausgegeben werden können.

Da OS-APS ein integraler Bestandteil der verlagsrelevanten Open-Source-Software-Landschaft werden soll, werden im Rahmen des Projekts Schnittstellen zu in Verlagen verbreiteten Tools (z.B. OJS, OMP) und Repositoriumssoftwares geschaffen.

Zuletzt bearbeitet am

Diskussion

In unserem Forum findet ein reger Austausch über die Inhalte dieser Website statt. Machen Sie mit!