Enabling discipline-oriented and sustainable Open Access

For the comprehensive open access trans­for­mation in the human­ities and social sciences, funding is needed that is not dependent the location of the university, but is oriented to­wards the authors and editors in their respec­tive disciplines and their specific publication needs.

The OAdine project aims to create the long-term infrastructure for sustainable community-based funding of OA publications, in which author contributions will no longer be required in the future.

Project goals:

  • We are transforming two quality-assured publication series permanently. Large parts of the backlist (2005 to 2015) will also be transformed to Open Access.
  • We will create an infrastructure for the permanent financing of OA publications, which will eliminate the author contributions currently required at the same time.
  • We are developing a concept for the financing of book series that will serve as a best-practice example and will also be transferable to other publication series. In this way, we ensure the financing of OA publications in the long term by distributing it across several stakeholders who have their own (discipline-oriented) interest in the content.
  • In interviews and a workshop, we sensitise stakeholders from the respective disciplines to the issue of funding OA books. In addition, we specifically approach potential funders and would like to win them over as future funders.

Open Access disziplinorientiert und nachhaltig ermöglichen

Für die flächendeckende Transformation hin zu Open-Access-Publikationen in den Geistes- und Sozial­wissenschaften braucht es eine Finanzie­rung, die sich nicht am Standort der Universi­tät, sondern an den Autor:innen und Herausge­benden in ihren jeweiligen Disziplinen und deren spezifischen Publikationsbe­darfen orientiert.

Über das Projekt OAdine soll langfristig die Infrastruktur für eine dauerhafte community-basierte Finanzierung von Open-Access-Publikationen geschaffen werden, bei der die Autorenbeiträge künftig entfallen.

Projektziele:

  • Wir transformieren zwei qualitätsgesicherte Publikationsreihen dauerhaft. Auch große Teile der Backlist (2005 bis 2015) werden Open Access gestellt.
  • Wir schaffen eine Infrastruktur für dauerhafte Finanzierung von Open-Access-Publikationen, bei der auch die derzeit notwendigen Autorenbeiträge entfallen.
  • Wir entwickeln ein Konzept für die Finanzierung der Buchreihen, das als Best-Practice-Beispiel dienen und auch auf andere Publikationsreihen übertragbar sein soll. Somit sichern wir die Finanzierung von Open-Access-Publikationen nachhaltig, indem diese auf die Schultern mehrerer Akteure verteilt wird, die ein eigenes (disziplinorientiertes) Interesse an den jeweiligen Inhalten haben.
  • Wir sensibilisieren in Interviews und einem Workshop Stakeholder der jeweiligen Fachdisziplinen für das Thema Finanzierung von Open-Access-Publikationen. Darüber hinaus sprechen wir gezielt potenzielle Förderer an und möchten diese für die Finanzierung gewinnen.
Zuletzt bearbeitet am

Diskussion

In unserem Forum findet ein reger Austausch über die Inhalte dieser Website statt. Machen Sie mit!